Monsters

Monsters are real. They creep out from their hiding places late at night while everyone is sleeping. They whisper threats into my ear and remind me how empty life is now. They stab my heart with jabs of yearning. They taunt me mercilessly, reminding me of dreams long dead. They tell me how I will never again know love. They chant it repeatedly. I fight them but they always win. If only they could take me away to their hiding places once and for all. Then I could be a monster too. It would not hurt so much then.

 

©Relinda R.

2 thoughts on “Monsters

  1. WE are often attacked at night when we are the most vulnerable. Well written, expressing the agony of this process. I always say thank God for the morning!

    • The nights are the worst. I think the days are easier because we are so busy, but at night when our mind settles down…monsters take control. Thank you for reading.

What do you think?

