Vacationing in Hell

“What is hell? Hell is oneself.
Hell is alone, the other figures in it
Merely projections. There is nothing to escape from
And nothing to escape to. One is always alone.”
~T.S. Eliot~

Image

This is the longest vacation I have ever experienced. It began the day the doctors said there was nothing more they could do. It continues years later. I always thought of vacationing as an escape from the monotonous realities of everyday life. Vacationing in hell is much different. It is a place where you accept the realities and disappointments that come with living, embrace them wholeheartedly and recognize that it is a vacation from which you will never return home until the day you die. Welcome to hell.

     Astonishingly, my house looks the same if you overlook the absence of laughter and the immaculate kitchen. That is the first thing you notice upon arrival to hell—the silence. It is so loud that when I enter a room, I can hear my heart pounding inside my head. Ironic that silence is actually the loudest noise in the universe. Sometimes I can hear echoes of laughter from my real life. It is very faint. There was so much laughter in this place before that I suppose it is inevitable that some imprint seeps through the walls.

     There are not fires and brimstone as depicted in sermons. There are the usual disappointments, but new ones surface each day. Disappointments such as realizing you will never again know the simple joy of sharing a banana split with your best friend in the world. Disappointments such as knowing that you will never again experience the fun of dancing in the rain with someone you love. Disappointments such as knowing that every trip you make will be alone. Knowing that any accomplishment you reach will never be celebrated is one of the harshest disappointments.

     I want to return from my vacation in hell, but it was a one-way ticket. “Life is what we make it.” If I had fucking known that, I would have molded it differently. I would still be whole. I would not have buried you. I would not dread waking each morning. “Time heals all wounds.” Bullshit. Some wounds cannot be healed, especially while you are vacationing in hell. “Prayer fixes everything,” really? because it did not work so well for me. I think we pull cute little quotes such as these out of our asses while under the illusion that they make people feel better. They do not.

     So, here I am, sending you a postcard from hell. The weather is lovely this time of year. All I really want is to go home though. I want a ticket home. Perhaps there is some type of lottery in which one can win a ticket home. If only someone would send me home. I cannot get there myself. This vacation blows.

©Relinda R.

9 thoughts on “Vacationing in Hell

  1. Pingback: HOW CAN I BELIEVE? « MY JOURNEY'S INSIGHT

  2. I have been reading through your blog, so much of what you’ve said could have come from my hand. My Mike left our life 1 year, 4 months and 4 days ago, but Im not keeping track. This particular blog about the “vacation” really struck me more than the others. This life I find myself in isnt comfortable, it has no warmth, no appeal, it isnt mine and I want to go back home. But home isnt there anymore, its an empty lot- the house is gone and only the memories of it remain.
    Like you I am so tired of all the bullshit lines we feed ourselves- truth be told the only way any of this could get better, would be if if I had a time machine and went back to when my life was mine. I hope someday that maybe those of us that just exist, will feel a little life once again.

    • I am sorry for your pain, Karen. I wish that I could say it gets easier or better, but I have not found that to be the case. I think we just have to continue going, learning what we need, and find strength in the hope of seeing them again one day. You are in my thoughts.

  3. I am so sorry for your pain. For me my faith was an anchor. It didn’t fix it but gave me a source to cling to to make it through to the other side. My losses were severe family dynamics that were extremely painful. The death of a family I thought I had. Living proof that while the past cannot be changed, there is life yet to live and enjoy. I think it is good you can get this out and express it so well. I’m sure it feels like it has gone on forever. Your writing is awesome!

What do you think?

